Interview by Tree House Reviews

This week I have been interviewed by the small but perfectly formed team at Tree House Reviews. Here’s the opening paragraphs of the interview, in which I discuss, amongst other things, how I came up with the title for my novel Miss Darcy’s Beaux).

After two weeks waiting impatiently for the mail carriage to arrive, we caught up with Eliza in an Austen-themed tearoom in the heart of Bath. The scones were delicious *munch munch*

Tell us about your writing process.

There’s some method, but a lot more madness. I am more a pantser [someone who flies by the seat of their pants] than a plotter, but I’ve come a long way since I started writing, and I am much more organised than I used to be. I also make a conscious effort to keep things moving forward. In the past, I’ve endlessly gone over and over again through the opening chapters of my novels, but these days I focus on getting a first draft done before working on any editing.

What’s your favourite under-appreciated novel?

I read Penmarric by Susan Howatch as a teenager, and it had a profound impact on me. It’s not considered a great piece of literature, but I loved the way it explored the innermost thoughts of different characters, and particularly how it took inspiration from historical facts to develop a family saga.

Have you read anything that made you think differently about fiction?

I was a voracious reader before ever thinking about the possibility of becoming a writer myself. I partly blame The Art of Fiction, by David Lodge, for encouraging me to look beyond the stories I was enjoying and wonder how they were built.
For the full interview follow this link to the Tree House Reviews site.

Leave a Reply

